Have a Great Journey, Gill!

We have had a wonderful visit with our new goldfish friend, Gill (a.k.a G2). G2 came to visit all the way from Cambridge, Ontario. He is the class mascot of a group of students called the Gill-Villeans.

We have had so much fun showing G2 around our school, community, and even down island. Gill loved making pancakes (he brought the syrup, YUM!), going to the Regional Science Fair, his trip down island, Skyping with the Techie Kids, visiting the community garden and the beach (he wanted to dip a fin in the Pacific Ocean, but we told him it was pretty cold and he changed his mind), riding rides at the fair, egg hunting, getting to know Trev the Kiwi from New Zealand, and spending time with the students!

Gill is on his way to Port Hardy this week where he will make new friends with Mrs. Soltau-Heller’s students. We hope Gill has a fantastic time learning more about the North Island. We’ll be watching G2’s travels on his wiki and have a few last messages for him:

Jordan-I had fun with you when we went to the fair.
Niall-Thanks for coming, Gill. I hope you had a great time!
Sahara-I hope you enjoyed looking at the countryside on our way down island.
Sophie-We’ll miss you!
Ana-I will always remember you and when you came to our class.
Oceana-I hope you have fun on your journey all the way back home.
Lily-I hope you have a good time in Port Hardy.
Fay-Bye Gill, have a safe journey!
Karin-Thanks for visiting us!
Jenny-I hope you have a great time!
Silkence-Have a nice time in Port Hardy.

What do you think Gill’s favourite thing about his visit was?
If you are not from our town, what would you like to see or do if you came for a visit?

2 thoughts on “Have a Great Journey, Gill!

  1. Hello! I am so glad that you enjoyed having G2 stay with you. We loved reading your blog posts and updates on our wiki. Thank you for being such great hosts and taking such great care of him. We have learned lots about life in British Columbia from your videos and pictures. We used some of that information in a presentation we made about western Canada! If I came to visit, I’d really like to see the beach and your community garden as it develops! I am a nature lover and think your garden project is a fabulous idea! I have never been to British Columbia but I have always wanted to go. Now I know that I HAVE to visit because it looks so beautiful. You are a fantastic class, with a very special teacher, and lucky to live in such a wonderful place! You will always hold a special place in our hearts, our traveling mascot friends! Remember that you can check in on G2’s travels by visiting his website: http://gillthegoldfishgoesglobal.wikispaces.com.

  2. Dear Mrs.Gill,
    Thank you for leaving us a comment! You have a special place in my heart too! When Gill was at my house he had so much fun on the computer. Every game we played he wanted to play it over and over again. He enjoyed visiting my blog and getting to helping me write a post. Gill made wonderful new friends with my stuffies and my all my pet Goldfish! Gill even got to feed them! The Goldfish really liked him!

    From Oceana

    P.S say hi to Gill for me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *