The One and Only Ivan

For the past few weeks we have been reading, The One and Only Ivan, written by Katherine Applegate.

The, One and Only Ivan is about a gorilla who lives at the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade. Ivan, and the other animals who live there do not have a very good life. They live in cages and have to perform in circus shows 3 times a day, 365 days a year.

Katherine Applegate was inspired to write this story after learning about the true story of a gorilla named Ivan who had spent most of his life living in a cage in a shopping mall.

If you haven’t read, The One and Only Ivan yet, we really think you should. We all loved it!

Brooklynn-I really wouldn’t have liked to have been Ivan because it wasn’t a good life for him.

Jorja-It really was sad when Stella died.

Kezra-It was really sad for Ivan that he stayed in a cage for 27 years.

Koa-It was really happy that the Ivan saw Julia and he probably was happy that Julia was still alive. I feel really happy for Julia, Ivan, and Bob.

May-I like the part when they were in the zoo.

Linden-I think it was really nice when Ruby got put in the zoo with all the other elephants instead of getting poked with the claw stick.

Taegan-It was really sad for Ruby to not have Stella anymore.

Sharon-It was really sad and happy at the same time.

Solomon-I think it was really nice that George got a job at the zoo.

Rhys-Ivan was happy that Bob was in the backpack.

Merissa-I liked when I heard that Ivan did a happy dance.

Jacob-The book was really good and my favourite character was Ivan.

15 thoughts on “The One and Only Ivan

  1. What an interesting post. I think I will order the book and do an assembly about it and then the older children in school can read and review it.

    Thanks
    Mr E
    Hawes

  2. Dear Mr E
    Thank you for leaving us a comment. You will like the book its really good. I like it but it is sad because for real life he died.

    Your blogging buddy,
    Jacob

  3. Dear class
    man that was sad. I should of cried when I had the chance. Were you guys sad? I’m feeling sad right now.
    Your classmate
    Jacob

  4. Hello Mrs. Watson’s Class,

    I have also read The One and Only Ivan and I loved it, but it also made me cry. I need some advice. I have been thinking about reading it to my grade 2 class in Winnipeg. Do you think they would like it? I am worried I might start crying again if I read it to them. (Which is always a sign of a good book, if I get emotional even though I know what is going to happen.)

    Thank you for sharing your learning,
    Ms. Nairn

    • Dear Mrs.Nairin
      Thanks for the comment. I think yore grade 2 class would love the book. Mrs. Watson read the book of One and Only Ivan. My funny part that I think was the me-ball part. Do you think the book was a good book? I felt like I wanted to cry but I didn’t.

      From Merissa

    • Dear Mom.
      The One and Only Ivan is a good book. Well it’s happy sad. It’s happy because he goes to a zoo. It’s sad because he’s in a cage for a long time alone.
      From your kid,
      Jacob

    • Dear Erica
      Thanks for the comment. I felt very sad for Ruby because she got hit with the claw stick by Mac. I felt happy at the end because Ivan and Ruby moved out of the mall to the zoo. I felt like I was going to cry at the end because it was sad. I loved it so much.

      From Merissa

  5. Hello Mrs. Watson’s class,
    Our grade 3 class in Alberta also read The One and Only Ivan. We enjoyed the book a lot. We agree with you that it was sad. But it was also happy at the end when Ivan got to move out of the mall to the zoo. We thought it was funny when Ivan threw a me-ball at the glass. What did you think was the funniest part? It was interesting that Ivan painted with his fingers. Have any of you finger painted before? Everyone in our class has tried it and we like the feeling of it on our fingers. Thanks for sharing your ideas on your blog!

    Have a nice day!
    From your Alberta friends in Mrs. Braybrook’s class

    • Dear Mrs. Braybrook’s Class,
      Thanks for leaving us a comment. We enjoyed reading the One and Only Ivan too. What book are you reading now? We’re reading The Doll People. Have you read that book before?

      We all thought the me-balls were funny too! Some of the other parts that we thought were really funny were:
      -When Bob was trying to sleep on Not-Tag and said there wasn’t enough room on her. (Sharon)
      -When Ivan was leaving and Bob said, “I’ll miss your stomach, big guy.” (Brooklynn)
      -When Ivan was in the zoo and Bob was like, ‘Nice place you got here.’ (Jacob)
      -When Ivan scooped off the frosting on the cake and put it on the fridge. (Jorja)
      -When he stuffed all his paintings in Not-tag and Bob had to try and sleep on her and said it wasn’t comfortable. (Kezra)

      Almost all of us have tried finger painting before and we liked it! Most of us haven’t done it for a long time! Mrs. Watson says we will have to try it again soon!

      Thanks again for the great comment!

      Your BC friends,
      Mrs. Watson and the K/1/2/3s

      • We’ve just finished reading and doing activities using the book “Wangari’s Trees of Peace”. We’ve been studying peace and we did an art project using peace doves. We’ve never even heard about the book called “The Doll People”. Can you tell us a little bit about it?

        We look forward to your reply! Have a wonderful weekend!
        From,
        Mrs. Braybrook and the 3C class
        (Our class name is “The Wolf Pack”)

  6. Dear class
    I wish that I knew what happened to Ivan. It was nicer going on vacation though. I guess I did miss all the cool things that happened that week. How many of you liked the lady who taught you about healthy eating?
    From Lily

  7. Dear class
    I liked the one and only Ivan I liked the part were Ivan did the happy dance. What part did you think was funny?

    Your classmate
    Merissa

  8. Dear Class,
    I don’t get how you can get bast that book with out crying but it is one of my favourite books. Do you like the one and only Ivan? my mom saw yhe video of it but am not sher if she likes it or not? I hope my dad will like it but hes never even been on our class blog. Know whats sad that Stella died. the part that I loved is when sees Bob in Julia’s back pack.

    From

    Jorja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *