Pumpkin Soup and Biscuits

Today we made pumpkin soup and biscuits for lunch. We are very thankful that Sue volunteered to come in and cook with us. She set up three stations in the kitchen.   One group made the soup, one group made plain biscuits, and one group made cheddar biscuits. We had to read the recipes and then prepare and add all the ingredients. We each got lots of turns!


 

Brooklynn-I like the biscuits a lot. I liked chopping carrots.
Jorja-I liked stirring the biscuits.
Koa-I liked the biscuits and they were really yummy with the soup on them.
Taegan- I liked everything!
Sharon-I learned how to read the recipe and how to read the teaspoons.
Jacob-I learned how to make biscuits.
Kezra-I liked mashing the butter into the flour. I liked eating the biscuit and soup.
Kaydan-I liked everything!
Solomon-I liked cutting the carrots and celery, and peeling the carrots.
May-I liked using my hands to mix the butter in the dough.
Merissa- I liked peeling carrots.
Linden-I liked to make the biscuits. It was a lot of fun.
Rhys-I cut the biscuits and I put them on the pan.

Some of the students thought they might like to make the biscuits at home and so we thought we would share the recipe we used.

Baking Powder Biscuit Recipe
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, cold and cut into pieces
2/3 – 3/4 cup (160 – 180 ml) milk
1 cup grated cheddar (optional)

1. Measure dry ingredients into a large bowl
2. Cut the butter into the flour until it looks like coarse crumbs
3. Add the milk and stir just until the dough comes together (do not over mix)
4. Knead dough lightly on a floured surface and form into a round about 2 ½ cm thick
5. Use a biscuit cutter or glass dipped in flour to cut the biscuits
6. Place biscuits on a baking sheet
7. Bake at 400F for 18-20 minutes

Have you ever tried pumpkin soup?
Do you have a favourite recipe that you like to make?
What do you think we should make next?

14 thoughts on “Pumpkin Soup and Biscuits

  1. Hello Mrs. Watson and class,

    What a wonderful experience! It looks like your class had a a lot of fun cooking! I see by your graph that 9 people liked the pumpkin soup. I have never tried pumpkin soup. What kind of spices did you add to the soup? Did it taste like pumpkin pie?

    Our class worked with pumpkins too! We dug seeds out of pumpkins, counted the seeds, and made graphs. Unfortunately, we don’t have a kitchen that classes can use in our school, so we are unable to cook.

    Here is a link to our Pumpkin Seed blog post http://mrsmorgansstars.edublogs.org/2012/10/29/pumpkin-seed-project-2012/

    Your friend,
    Mrs. Morgan
    Fort Worth, Texas

    • Dear Mrs. Morgan,
      no it dust taste luc pucin piu. it taste luk sum cid u vegvllv sop. the buvs tas gud. hav uow tasid the buusv ther gdt? hav u tasid the soup we hav tasid the soup.

      From Koa

      (No, it doesn’t taste like pumpkin pie. It tastes like some kind of vegetable soup. The buns taste good. Have you tried the buns? They’re good. Have you tasted the soup. We have tasted the soup.)

  2. Dear Mrs Watson and K/1/2/3
    Mmmm, I bet your kitchen smelled good when you were cooking. Pumpkin soup is one of my favourites!

    Here is something that may surprise you:
    In New Zealand we have biscuits, but they are what you call cookies. And the food that you call biscuits, we call scones! My favourite scone flavour is cheese, but I also like date scones. Have you tried them?

    your friend
    Mrs McKenzie

    • Dear Mrs. McKenzie,
      Thank you for leaving us a comment. I have never had date scones. What do they taste like? Do they taste like dates?
      From Taegan

    • Dear Mrs. McKenzie,
      In Sointula we call scones scones and we call cookies cookies. I have not tried date scones. I liked pumpkin soup too!

      From,
      Kezra

  3. Dear Mrs Watson and K/1/2/3 class,

    What a fun day! The soup and the biscuits look yummy. Actually the biscuit is very good, thank you May for sharing her biscuit.

    Best,
    Phoebe (May’s Mum)

    • Dear Mom,
      Thank you for the comment. We hope you leave us an other comment. I want to ask if you have ever seen a class blog? I’m glad you liked the biscuit.

      Love,
      May

      • Dear May,

        Yes, I have seen a class blog before. I would love to see you starting your own blog. Are you going to start soon?

        Love,
        Mum

    • Dear Phoebe,
      Thanks for leaving a comment. Have you made biscuits at home? I’ve made cheese biscuits before.

      From,
      Merissa

  4. Pingback: pumpkin Soup and Biscuits | Mrs. Morgan's Superstars

  5. Dear class,
    The pumpkin soup was fantastic even the biscuits. Today I might show my mom them.
    After making the biscuits my hands were dirty. It was really fun.
    Your classmate,
    Jacob.

    • Dear Jacob
      Thanks for the comment. I think I’ll show Bonnie how to make the biscuits after school. I like your comment.

      From,
      Merissa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *