43 thoughts on “Picasso Monsters

    • Dear Mrs McKenzie and B4,
      I am so happy that you like are monsters.

      We tried our hardest to follow that many steps.

      The trickiest part for me was probably gluing the hair on.

      Looking at art, does it make you feel like want to try and make it yourself with your class?

      Best Wishes,
      Kennedy

  1. Dear Mrs. Watson and the 2/3’s,

    We really liked your Picasso Monsters. They are very colorful. We noticed that the faces looked a little different then our faces. We have all seen Picasso’s art work before so, we recognize the style. Your use of colors made your creations unique. Our favorite part was the monster teeth.

    Do all of the 2/3’s have their Halloween costumes picked out yet?

    Keep up the good work!

    Your friends from the USA,
    The Techie Kids and Mrs. Moore

  2. Dear Mrs.Watson,

    We think your art work is really cool! Our favorit part of your monster art work is the teeth. We think you did a great job keep up the good work!

    Your Friends
    Jada,Emily,Mia

  3. Dear Mrs.Watson and the 2/3’s,

    I really liked your monsters. They were so cool! There colors really exploded! I like that you used yarn hair for them.

    Sincerly,
    Brianna

    • Dear Brianna,
      Thank you so much for your super comment. We thought our monsters were pretty cool too. There were a lot of great colours to pick from and different odds and ends to use for the details. What kind of art do you like to do?

      Your friends,
      Mrs. W and the 2/3s

  4. Dear Mrs.Watson and 2/3’s,

    Your monsters were so creative! Where did you get the idea to do a project like that? I wish my class could do that.

    Your friend, a techie kid Jordan

    • Dear Jordan,
      Thank you for visiting our blog and for leaving us a comment. We are glad that you liked our monsters. We got the idea from an art blog that Mrs. Watson follows. We get a lot of our art ideas from blogs. What kinds of art do you do at your school?

      Your friends,
      Mrs. W and the 2/3s

  5. Dear Mrs. Watson,

    I am giving my first reply. The monsters were pretty scary. The best part was when when the monsters were up close!

    Your new friend,
    One of the Techie Kids, Trevor

    • Dear Trevor,
      We are very honored to be your first reply! You did a great job. We hope that they weren’t too scary. A lot of them look pretty funny too. What kind of monster would you make?

      Your friends,
      Mrs. W and the 2/3s

  6. Hi Mrs.Watson its me Trista in grade two from your class. I just wanted to say i really enjoyed making monster faces .This is the best class ive been in so far.I like the smart board. I likie wickey sticks too.Have a great weekend I cant wait to see you on Monday.

    Trista

    • Dear Trista,
      I was really excited to see a comment from you when I got home from school today! How was your day off? I hope you had fun. I love our class a lot too. I think it is fantastic that we are all learning new things every day. It sure makes coming to school exciting.

      See you Monday!

      Mrs. W 🙂

    • Dear Trista,
      I like this class too it might not be the best class, but I admit it is pretty AWESOME! Rar I liked the monsters too which one is yours Trista? Mine is the one whith the pumpkin insides hanging over his shoulder and a yellow shirt. Whitch monster is your favourite monster? I think the smart bord is cool too. At my old school Courtenay El. we had a Smart Board just like us. The wiki sticks they’re just likemy bendables at home. So I agree our class is cool.

      What is your favourite part of school? Do you have a favourite teacher? If you do who is it? My favourite teacher is Mrs. Watson. My favourite thing at school is P.E.

      Catch ya later

      Karin:P

    • Dear Mr.Avery
      I was impressed by the monsters too 🙂 My class does have Halloween spirit.
      I don’t know what the other sudents are wearing this year, but I am being a vampire.
      Talk to you soon,
      Sophie

  7. Dear Ms. Watson and 2/3s

    We like the teeth they looked really sharp.Mia likes the yarn hair, and she says it looks like nice fluffy carpet! Emily likes the faces she said that they looked scary! Jada likes everything she says that the colors are very interesting!

    Your friends, and the techie kids from Miss.Moores class Jada,EmilyMia

    • Dear Jada, Emily, and Mia,
      Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful comment! We are so glad that you liked our monsters. We had a lot of fun adding the different details.

      Your friends,
      Mrs. W and the 2/3s

      • Dear Ms. Watson,

        Thank you for leaving us a comment. We really hope we can Skype with you soon.

        Your friends the techie kids Emily,Jada,Mia

        • Dear Emily, Jada, and Mia,
          Great to see another comment form you! We hope that we will get a chance to Skype with you soon too. The grade 2’s have never Skyped before. We think it is interesting that we have a Mia in our class too!

          Hope you all have a great weekend and Happy Halloween!
          Mrs. W and the 2/3s

  8. Hi its me Trista again my Friday was good had a fire and marshmellows with lots of friends. Looking forward to seeing you Monday.
    Trista

    • Dear Trista,
      Wow! A fire and marshmallows…I am so jealous. I absolutely love roasted marshmallows. I also really like hot dogs cooked over a campfire too. I hope you enjoy the rest of the weekend.

      Mrs. W

  9. Dear Mrs. Watson and Class,

    Wow, you have all created such amazing looking Monsters! I love the color combinations and the terrific background additions. Job well done! I was so interested in how you made these creations, that I took the time to check out the art blog you mentioned in your post. It is an amazing resource full of wonderful ideas!

    In our class, we will do a unit of study on Vincent Van Gogh later in the year. You can check out the project made by the 4WS students of last year on these two blog posts http://kwebb.edublogs.org/2011/05/vincent-van-gogh/ http://kwebb.edublogs.org/2011/06/come-onecome-allsilent-auction-in-4ws/. I think I will have to do a unit on Picasso this year too! You have inspired me!

    Keep up the fantastic work!

    Your Blogging Buddy,

    ♥ Mrs. Webb-Scheers

    • Dear Lily,
      I had a lot of fun watching all of you make your monsters. I am so glad that you enjoyed it! What was your favourite part of the project?

      Your friend,
      Mrs. W

  10. Dear Mrs.W
    I loved making the Picasso monsters it was fun fun fun.
    Did you enjoy the project ?
    What was your favourite thing?My favourite thing was decorating the shirt and the background did you like doing that?

    Your friend
    Ana:)

    • Dear Ana,
      I loved the Picasso Monsters too. I love how they all look so different. I think my favourite part was seeing all the unique ideas everyone had for their monsters and backgrounds.

      I love art!
      Mrs. W

    • Dear Charlize,
      It seems like just the other day that you were in this class. Time goes by way too quickly. We had a lot of fun with this art project, but you do some pretty amazing things in art in your class as well. I love looking at your pieces in the hallway. I especially love the daisies that are in the entryway right now.

      See you at school tomorrow!
      Mrs. W

  11. Dear Mrs. Watson’s Class,
    You are so amazing! I love your Picasso Monsters! The music in the video captured the energy of the monsters.
    I have shared your blog with our art teacher. She is doing some Picasso lessons right now too and will be so impressed with the quality of your work.

    Now I’m wondering…what will you do next? Have you read the book Picasso and a Girl with a Ponytail? It’s a picture book about Picasso based on a factual event in his life. Lawrence Anholt wrote it.

    Impressed in Seattle,
    Mrs. Hembree

    • Dear Mrs. Hembree,
      Thank you so much for looking at our monsters and for leaving us such a nice comment. Our next art project will be artwork for our town Winter Fest which is quickly approaching. This year the theme is peacocks. Everyone in the school will make a peacock and they will all go up in the community hall.

      We haven’t heard of that book before, but will have to see if we can get it from the library. We love finding out about new books!

      Your friends,
      Mrs. W and the 2/3s

  12. Hi Mrs Watson its me Sharon. I realy liked doing the monsters but it was so cool to have the video with the monster mash music. Today I loved reading to lilly and trista the story of a baby orka trying to find its pod. I got to see lots of orka pods this summer when we went sailing on our boat.

  13. Dear Class,
    I really like your Picasso monsters. My favourite one was Ana’s. I liked it because it was pink and pretty. I liked all the rest too. I wonder what amazing project/craft you will come up with next.
    Some day I would like to make a Picasso monster.

    From
    Brooklynn (;

  14. Dear Mrs. Watson,
    I really loved our Picasso Monsters. When they were done are picasso Monsters were pretty. There were vanpirse and werwols and some freinkensteins.

    From,
    Gwen

  15. Dear Mrs. Watson,

    The monsters were not really scary just a bit scary. You did a good job designing your monsters.

    Your friend, one of the Techie Kids,
    Trevor

    • Dear Trevor,
      Thank you for leaving us such a spooktacular comment! We’re glad that the monsters weren’t too scary. Did you do any special Halloween art at your school? Today we made witches.

      Your friends,
      Mrs. W and the 2/3s

  16. Hi mrs.Watson.
    I love your monsters! guess what I got a kitten. I made some monster art and, he was scared to death!

    Well, I better go.

    from your friend Oceana

    • Dear Oceana,
      It sure is great seeing comments from you! I would love to hear more about your kitten. What does it look like? What did you name it? I thought it was so cute that he got scared of your monster, poor little thing.

      Hope to see more comments soon!

      Your friend,
      Mrs. W

  17. Hi Mrs Watson and Class
    We loved the slideshow of your artwork. Your artworks were very creative and colourful. Scary too! We would like to try the artworks for ourselves, so thank you for the inspiration. We hope that you all continue to do some more inspirational work! Do you have any suggestions for Christmas?
    From Mrs Todd, Mrs Shabaya and Year 4
    Mount Annan Christian College

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *