Science Fun with Steve!

Today we had a very special visitor in our school! A scientist from from Port McNeill came to share his love of science with our students. Steve showed us some really cool experiments and let us try them out too. We love science and especially love the chance to get a little messy!

Don’t forget always ask questions!

Science Fun! on PhotoPeach

We also found out that we will be having a science fair at our school at the end of March. This will be our first science fair and we are very excited.

Do you have a favourite science experiment?

Have you participated in a science fair before? We’d love to hear about your project!

22 thoughts on “Science Fun with Steve!

  1. Dear Mrs. Watson,

    We loved your slide show. I remember that I saw the one with the balloon blowing up. We did that in my teachers science club too. My balloon didn’t blow up because it had a hole in it. We wish that Steve will come to Michigan, USA.

    Your Blogging Buddy,
    Jack.

  2. Dear Mrs . Watson,

    We have a little club that we call science club and we do all kinds of experiments. We made a volcano. We made a bubble out of a balloon. What we did was we got a bottle, a balloon, some baking soda. and some viniger. We pore the baking soda in the balloon and put the viniger in the bottle and put the balloon on top of the bottle then we pore the baking soda in the bottle and it explods! That is one of our experiments.

    From,
    Victoria
    Techie Kids

  3. Dear Mrs.Watson,

    My favorite science experiment was to make a exploding volcano. It got really messy. The bad part was it exploded every ware. It was still a fun experiment. What was your favorite experiment with Mr.Steve? I hope you had a good time.

    Sincerely,
    Alex

  4. Dear Mrs.Watson,

    My favorite science expierement is making a volcano erupt. My favorite part of that expierement is when we built it and made it erupt. It was really fun! did you make a volcano at home or at school? Me and my brother made a volcano in are sand box. It was really cool. We put vingener and baking soda in it. Then it exploded. It was awesome.

    From,

    Trisha
    Techie Kidsa

  5. Dear Mrs.W,

    My favorite experiment is the volcano. Have you ever made a volcano? First, I had to go get the supplies. Then you form the volcano. After you do that, you put in the lava. All you have to do now is wait.

    From,

    Townsend
    Techie Kids

  6. Dear Mrs. W,

    I do have a favorite experiment. It is a volcano. When I was in second grade I made one that shot out jello. After it was done erupting I ate the leftovers. It was strawberry. The volcano was made of rock. Have you ever made a jello volcano?

    From,

    Jessica
    Techie Kids

  7. Dear Mrs.W,

    My favorite experiment was a exploding volcano. It did not have real lava it just had baking soda and solutions. Have you ever made this experiment?

    From,

    Mike
    techie kids

  8. Dear Mrs.Watson,

    My favorite science experiment is carbine dioqe side. I did it in science club last week. It was really fun! I still have it at my house. The carbine dioxide side is pulling the balloon in side the bottle! If you want to make this you will need vinager , baking soda , an eptie bottle: not a can: , and a balloon. Pour some baking soda in the balloon. Then pour some vinager in the bottle. Atach the balloon to the bottle. You now have it!

    Your pal,
    Caitlyn

  9. Dear Mrs.W,

    I thought the science fun video was so cool. What was your favorite project? My class has science club instead of a science fair. We did the balloon project too. Did you think it was cool? What was the slimy stuff you made? It looked so cool, we like the different colors. We did a sound project it was so cool. we took some paperclips and tided string to them. Next we stuck them in cups. Than we talked through them we could hear each other. It was so cool.

    From,
    Ashley
    Techie Kids

  10. Dear Mrs Watson,

    My favorite science experiment is 3d glasses.
    I am almost finished working on it.
    Instructions, draw glasses with paper and color it and put colored lenses on it.

    From,Anthony on techie kids.

  11. Dear Mrs.Watson,

    My favorite experiment is a erupting volcano. I have participated in two science fairs before. One time I won second place but the other time I won third place. I have good times at the science fair. Don’t you? Oh I almost forgot to ask you what your favorite science experiment is?

    Your friend,
    Joseph
    Techie Kids

  12. Dear Mrs.W,

    I made a volcano in September. It was not big it was so much fun! We had food coloring I was with my friends in my class! Putting bracing soda and
    food coloring oh ya it exploded.

    Sincerely,
    Brycen

  13. Dear Techie Kids,
    We think your science club sounds amazing! We are wondering what other experiments you have done in your club. We bet the volcano was pretty cool. Four of us have tried to make a volcano at home before, but none of us have ever tried a jello volcano!

    We’d love to learn more about your science club!

    Your friends,
    Mrs. W and the 2/3’s

  14. For a moment I was thinking about a career change! Science fairs are fabulous and it reminds me that I need to set something up at my school.
    I loved it when you were putting your hands in the polymer, the look on your faces was priceless.

    Favourite Experiment:

    1 pint / 450ml of FULL FAT milk, warm gently in a saucepan to about body temperature.
    Add 120ml (or so…a few glugs) of vinegar and stir with a wooden spoon.

    You will enjoy the outcome. Teaching Tip, do it at home first.

    I also like all the changing states experiments when we cook.It’s hard to think of cooking as an experiment.

    Finally, look up mentos and diet coke on you tube! It really does work and if you do it in school, post it!

    Mr E
    Hawes CP School
    Eng

    • Dear Mr. E,
      A lot of the students were very intrigued by what might happen in your experiment. I think a few may give it a try at home.

      I did the Mentos fountain at school a few years ago and it certainly was a blast 😉 We may have to give it a try again soon.

      Thanks so much for all your fantastic comments!

      Mrs. W

  15. Hi. I love Science. It is amazing and beautiful in some ways. I havn’t done any of the experiments at school before.I have done the goo one at home but it didn’t work. The children in the videos look as if they are having a marvelus time with Steve.

    My favorite Experiment is the banana sadwich experiment! It is all about the digestive system.

    You will need:
    A banana sandwich (make it yourself useing, bread, a banana, butter and a knife),some orange squash, a plastic bag (small and clear), a plate and pair of sissors.

    1.Rip up your banana sandwich and put it in your bag. Then give it a good squish around.
    2. Add a cup of orange squash to your bag. Then give it another good squish around.
    3. Cut a corner of your bag with your sissors.
    4. Push the mixture out onto your plate.
    This experiment shows the different stages your digestive stytem does to your food. Can you work out what the are?

    • Dear Chloe,
      Thanks so much for leaving us such a wonderful comment! Your banana sandwich experiment sounds like it would be a great model of digestion. Maybe some of the students in our class will want to give it a try. Experimenting is so much fun!

      Your friends,
      Mrs. W and the 2/3’s

  16. Hello Mrs. Watson and the 2/3’s. We’ve been very busy here preparing for the mastery tests we have for three weeks in CT. We love doing Science experiments. We have an after school Science club like other classes that have visited your blog. During our study of chemical changes last year in third grade, we did a cool experiment with an egg and vinegar. You place the egg and vinegar in a jar and put the lid on. Let it sit for a few days, then have the kids remove the egg and place it in a plastic bag. Take pictures as the kids begin to observe what happens to the egg.

    Mrs. Yammine and the Super Stars

    • Dear Mrs. Yammine,
      It is so great to hear from you! It seems like time goes by quicker and quicker as we get closer to the end of the year. An after school science club sounds like so much fun. I would love to find out more about the set-up of your club and the types of things you do. How often do the students meet? Is it only open to certain grades?

      I love the experiment you described with the egg and vinegar, but haven’t done it with students for several years. Thanks for the reminder!

      Mrs. W 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *