You’ll Never Guess Who We Talked To!


Custom Glitter Text
It was fantastic to finally get to talk to our blogging buddies from 2KJ! We stayed after school until 4:00 to make the call. It was 9:00 am for the students in Australia. We thought it was pretty amazing that it was already tomorrow there!

We had a Canadian/Australian show and tell. The students in Miss Jordan’s class brought some wonderful things to school to show us. We got to see and hear a real didgeridoo. We also got to see a boomerang and learned that the aboriginal people used them to hunt.

We also learned about some different foods that they have in Australia. The students showed us a jar of Vegemite and told us that they eat it on toast and some people even add it to their Weetabix cereal. We also found out that they call “Rice Krispies” Rice Bubbles. Micheal brought in maple syrup to show and we found out that they have maple syrup in Australia too. Then a student showed the Monkey Tacos that her grandma made for our after school snack. They thought that the bananas and peanut butter wrapped in a tortilla sounded good.

We showed 2KJ a hockey stick, Vancouver Canucks flag, a lacrosse stick, and some Olympic wear. They showed us an Australian Rules Football ball and a Jumper, or jersey, from one of their teams called the Cats.

One student brought in her pet salamander to show the student’s in 2KJ and they had koala and kangaroo stuffed animals to show us. Miss Jordan told us that some people think Australians ride kangaroos to school. We told Miss Jordan that some people think Canadians live in igloos.

We also showed our friends two of our flags and some of our money. We both have beautiful colourful money. The students in 2KJ thought our Toonies and Loonies had neat names.

We could have talked to 2KJ until bedtime!

7 thoughts on “You’ll Never Guess Who We Talked To!

  1. Dear mrs Watson and the 1/2/3’s

    It was truly awesome to see today!! (Wednesday morning for us and Tuesday night for you) It was fun seeing all Canadian things and for you, it was fun
    seeing Austalian things! We have never heard of Frosty Flakes before.

    I think the “Toonies” and “Loonies” were very interesting.

    Got to go have tea now,
    Your blogging buddie Amelia !:-)

  2. Dear Mrs Watson and the 1/2/3’s,

    I think the skype session was fun and I really liked seeing all your faces! Mrs Watson what did you think of the skype session? 🙂 I hope we can skype again.

    I think Toonies and Loonies are funny names for a $1 and $2 but that is just how it is! I learnt that we call Rice Bubbles “Rice Bubbles” and you call “them Frosty Flakes and Rice Krispies.

    I had alot of fun skyping and I hope we can do it again!!! 😉

    Happy Blogging,
    Skye!!!

  3. Hi Mrs Watson and the 1/2/3s,

    It’s nice to write to you now that I know what you look like! Thanks again to everyone for staying late after school yesterday so we could Skype! All of the students loved the experience and everyone told their families all about it

    The kids are still talking about “loonies” and “toonies” and monkey tacos! 🙂

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your week!

    From Miss Jordan

  4. Hi Mrs Watson and the 1/2/3’s
    I really likes the skyping session today. I brought my didgeridoo in to show you and enjoyed doing it for you. I told my family all about the skype to you and they thought it was cool.
    bye from Spencer – your blogging buddy from Australia

    • Dear Spencer,
      We loved Skyping with your class too! Thank you so much for bringing your didgeridoo in and playing it for us. I would love to try play one someday. It sure looked hard! I hope we can Skype again,

      Mrs. W

  5. I think this Skype call was a great idea! My son brought in the Canucks Flag and my daughter had an olympic hat. I hope that I can come participate in the next Skype call. I too would love to try the didgeridoo… What a fabulous way to get connected with people!!! Our kids are so fortunate to have wonderful teachers like Mrs. Watson and Miss Jordan.

    Erica (AJ Elliot Parent)

  6. Dear Mrs. W,
    My favourite part about the Reading sleep over was the Reading with expereshin contest becuase it was my first time being up there infront of all those people.I also liked the movie because I had never seen that movie before.

    Mia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *