2D Shape Fun

On Monday the K/1/2/3s spent some time talking about, and exploring 2 dimensional shapes. Here’s a great song we loved singing:

Next we drew shapes of our own on our whiteboards and then played, “Guess my Shape”. Mrs. Watson gave us clues and we had to try guess which shape she was thinking about.

Finally, we got into groups and made shapes using yarn. It took a lot of teamwork to make each shape and it sure was a lot of fun!
IMG_3190

IMG_3193

IMG_3194

IMG_3195

IMG_3196

IMG_3197

IMG_3198

IMG_3199

4 thoughts on “2D Shape Fun

  1. Dear k,1,2,3,4 class

    You guy are very lucky to have Mrs Watson. I remember when i was in her call and i will never ever forget all the little math games we did.

    I will always remember the math songs we did.

    Your Friend
    Jordan

    • Dear Jordan,
      I remember the good old days as well 😉 I love those math songs too and often find myself humming them without ever realizing I am, “Let’s do those double, doubles…”. Look, there I go again! Do you have a favourite math song? I think my favourite might be, Tally Man or maybe, Double Doubles.

      Thanks for leaving us a comment!

      Sincerely,
      Mrs. W

  2. Dear Mrs. Watson and class,
    It looked like you guys were having lots of fun with shapes. I miss being in your class for a hole day. I also like being in the big kids class too.
    From
    Merissa

    • Dear Merissa,
      I think the grade 4s get to have the best of both worlds by spending time in both classes. We definitely miss you after lunch and on Mondays, but we know that you are doing lots of important learning down the hall as well. Do you have a favourite 2D shape or 3D solid? I like pyramids the best. I wonder if that’s because I have always wanted to go to Egypt…hmmm.

      See you tomorrow,
      Mrs. W

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *